State seeks ‘Woman of Achievement’ nominees

PORTLAND – The Oregon Commission for Women is pleased to announce its 2004 Woman of Achievement Award nomination solicitation.

All interested parties are invited to nominate a woman whose accomplishments best meet the award criteria. Awardees will be honored at the 20th Annual Women of Achievement Awards Dinner on Saturday, Oct. 2 at the Oregon Convention Center. This year’s dinner theme is 40 years and counting, celebrating 40 years of helping women create better lives.

This year marks the 20th Anniversary of the Women of Achievement Awards Dinner and the 40th Anniversary of the Commission for Women. The Commission was founded in 1964 as part of a national movement for women’s equality. Since that time the Commission has been committed to helping women in Oregon have better lives through promoting statewide policy and laws favorable to women, providing education and information to women directly, and as honoring the accomplishment of women in Oregon.

“This award has come to represent recognition for substantial accomplishments,” commented Commission for Women, Executive Director, Roslyn Farrington, “The women who receive this award are extraordinary people who, by their efforts, make a positive change for everyone. The awardees are women for all of us to look up to and endeavor to emulate.”

Nominees for the Woman of Achievement Award must be recognized for leadership and success in her area of expertise, promote the status of women in society, have a commitment to equity and diversity, and be an exemplary role model. Past recipients of the award include:

1985 – Vera Katz
1986 – Barbara Roberts, Norma Paulus
1987 – Nancy Ryles, Susan Hammer – 1987
1988 – Marsha Congdon, Betty Roberts – 1988
1989 – Mary Wendy Roberts, Nancy Wilgenbusch
1990 – Clarice Parr-Sandoz, Y. Sherry Sheng
1991 – Ursula K. LeGuin, Gail Shibley
1992 – Susan Helms, Joan Biggs
1993 – Ann Aiken, Tricia Smith, Judith Armatta
1994 – Mary Alice Ford, Annabelle Jaramillo,
Ellen Lowe, Janet Stevenson
1995 – Myrlie Evers Williams, Kate Brown
1996 – Dianne Middle, Cheryl Perrin, Judith Ramaley
1997 – Margaret Carter, Patricia Davis Hinrichs,
Nellie Fox-Edwards
1998 – Amy Aldrich Bedford, Bev Clarno,
Joan Priscilla Kilbourn
1999 – Avel Gordly, Kathryn Harrison,
Katherine Huff O’Neil
2000 – Elmo Bloom, Roslyn Hill, and Sue Shaffer
2001 – Clariner Boston, Margaret Jean Hallock,
Kathleen Margerum
2002 – Connie Ashbrook, Susan Castillo,
Katherine Jensen
2003 – Phyllis Lee, Jerralynn Ness, Diane Rosenbaum

Nomination materials are attached and or available by contacting the Oregon Commission for Women at PO Box 751-CW, Portland, Oregon, 97207, by email at or by calling (503) 725- 5889. Applications are due by July 16, 2004.

The Commission for Women is charged under Oregon law to work for the economic, social, legal, and political equality of Oregon women. It does this through advocacy, issues assessment, public outreach, organizational networking, and consultation with the office of the Governor and the Legislature.